[Console Route] What do I need to buy?

The place for new forum members to introduce themselves.
User avatar
GypsyJack
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 9:54 am
Location: England
Contact:

Re: CHECKLIST: What do I need to buy?

Postby GypsyJack » Mon Nov 30, 2015 3:54 pm

Ethernet cable is required. If you are using a wireless adapter then you don't need a long ethernet cable. In fact, most wireless adapters come with one. But if you don't have the money for one, you'll need to bring your PS2 downstairs.
yeah,i'd rather just bring it downstairs whenever I feel like playing. So when I take it downstairs,I'm only taking my PS2 and an Ethernet cable?
Image

User avatar
Silent Hell
Sr. Member
Posts: 1061
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 2:39 pm
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Contact:

Re: CHECKLIST: What do I need to buy?

Postby Silent Hell » Mon Nov 30, 2015 3:58 pm

You'll be taking everything mentioned on the checklist lol. Except for your discs because you will have already ripped them to your HDD lol.
I always make an effort to check my PM's once a day, so if you need anything, shoot me a PM.

PC: Ryzen 5 1600 @ 3.8GHz, GeForce GTX 1080 Ti 11GB, 8GB RAM
Console: NTSC-U PS2 SCPH-39001, Maxtor 320GB IDE HDD

User avatar
GypsyJack
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 9:54 am
Location: England
Contact:

Re: CHECKLIST: What do I need to buy?

Postby GypsyJack » Mon Nov 30, 2015 4:08 pm

You'll be taking everything mentioned on the checklist lol. Except for your discs because you will have already ripped them to your HDD lol.
oh yeah i forgot about the network adapter whoops. I counted the HDD as just being PS2 because it will always be in there unless i'm having troubles with it or something like that,right? Thank you btw.
Image

User avatar
alowishus1989
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2016 10:27 pm

Re: CHECKLIST: What do I need to buy?

Postby alowishus1989 » Wed Mar 30, 2016 6:22 pm

How much quicker is a fat PS2 loading over a Slim?

I have a Japanese slim and I don't really want to have to import a Fat just to play this.

Are we talking seconds or minutes here?

I have no experience with this.

Thanks.

User avatar
Silent Hell
Sr. Member
Posts: 1061
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 2:39 pm
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Contact:

Re: CHECKLIST: What do I need to buy?

Postby Silent Hell » Wed Mar 30, 2016 8:09 pm

It depends on the HDD but it's a noticeable difference and quite frankly, I can never go back to disc speeds. You don't have to import a FAT PS2 at all. Just buy one from your region. Since you're softmodding it you'll be able to play region free.
I always make an effort to check my PM's once a day, so if you need anything, shoot me a PM.

PC: Ryzen 5 1600 @ 3.8GHz, GeForce GTX 1080 Ti 11GB, 8GB RAM
Console: NTSC-U PS2 SCPH-39001, Maxtor 320GB IDE HDD

User avatar
hobbes_182
Full Member
Posts: 226
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2014 12:08 am
Location: _mobius

Re: CHECKLIST: What do I need to buy?

Postby hobbes_182 » Fri Apr 01, 2016 9:28 pm

It depends on the HDD but it's a noticeable difference and quite frankly, I can never go back to disc speeds. You don't have to import a FAT PS2 at all. Just buy one from your region. Since you're softmodding it you'll be able to play region free.
Agreed, with a fat PS2 + HDD you're talking about 2-3 heartbeats per screen [same deal as emu]. Slim can be up to 7+ heartbeats [from USB] I think disc is about 10-13 :(
Image
Image

User avatar
JoeTheUseless
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2015 12:57 pm
Location: Liverpool United Kingdom

Re: CHECKLIST: What do I need to buy?

Postby JoeTheUseless » Thu Jul 21, 2016 10:52 am

Took me ages to get everything together i got a phat PS2 Network adaptor and a brand new 750GB IDE drive for cheap i could not be bothered modding it myself so just bought a cheap memory card off ebay with mcboot and HDLOADER and OPL on it i just formatted the drive in Winhiip put it in my PS2 and started ripping all my games to the HDLOADER luckily my laser is ok for now ;)

I just need to do the translation patch again and rip the new ISO's to the HDD with Winhiip i used to play this on the PS2 emulator it looked fantastic BUT it crashes alot and always seems to happen at the worst point annoying :-/

I am going to back up this memory card to a spare 8mb card i have incase the card breaks... it is third party so is possible.. Then i am putting in my 64MB into slot 2 for save games.

The PS2 emulator is ok but most games run like crap and my computer is awesome i had a separate Emu for each game so i would not forget the settings for each game not worth the hassle only problem is the ps2 looks bad on my 32 inch LG HDTV via RGB scart i bought Componant cables to help but not sure how much it will help who knows be here in a few days ;) ;) ;) ;)

I did notice better loading in some games Vice city loads up very quickly moving fast in the car renders the graphics slightly quicker
Gran Turismo 4 loads up cars quicker loading is better and overall the PS2 seems more responsive = better experience 8)

I suggest the console route if you can afford it the EMU looks better and has a few more FPS but crashes

If only i had a working CRT for the PS2 :'( :'( :'( :'(

:)) :)) :)) :)) :)) :)) :))
Say Hello To My Little Friend!!! Image

User avatar
StuntmanSnake
Sr. Member
Posts: 1778
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 4:44 am
Location: Raccoon City Zoo
Contact:

Re: CHECKLIST: What do I need to buy?

Postby StuntmanSnake » Thu Jul 21, 2016 3:40 pm

Congrats, Joe. Welcome to the PS2 masterrace. :)

The component cables will definitely improve the picture quality, you may just need to also tweak some settings on your HDTV itself such as brightness and/or sharpness.

Have fun.
ID: MODDER | HN: StuntmanSnake | CHARACTER: RANDOM

User avatar
HeroWolfMod
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2017 4:11 pm
Contact:

Re: CHECKLIST: What do I need to buy?

Postby HeroWolfMod » Thu Jan 12, 2017 5:06 pm

Hellol, I need to ask something about the recommended HDD for loading games (and the Outbreak games too).
I saw the list says about an IDE HDD, but also found out there are modified adaptors with SATA connectors for SATA HDDs, so I want to ask, what's the difference between SATA and IDE?
Hellol, just an italian member here! I'm called HeroWolfMod in Steam and other online games most of the times.

Equipment: PlayStation 2 Slim, [Free McBooted] Memory Card, Open PS2 Launcher

FUNGUS123
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2018 11:55 pm

Re: [Console Route] What do I need to buy?

Postby FUNGUS123 » Mon Aug 27, 2018 7:52 am

Wow, just discovered this forum after watching a YouTube video of this English guys and a girl playing outbreak on an emulator and it just reminded me of all the fun I had with it and it made me miss it. So I googled and found this place. Happy to join

So I busted my ps2 out, here Is my set up. I have the ps2, network adapter, mcboot with hdloader version 8 and a hard drive. So I basically need an IDE enclosure kit to transfer the ISO to it from laptop using winhip. But before that you need to patch it to be region free, or does HD loaded automatically do it natively. Also I remember loading from Hd loaded back when outbreak was still up, it wouldn't pass DNS. Is linking to that patch against TOS?

FUNGUS123
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2018 11:55 pm

Re: [Console Route] What do I need to buy?

Postby FUNGUS123 » Mon Aug 27, 2018 9:26 am

So I just learned I don't have mcboot. I thought that was when you load elfs via the ozone game method, because that is what I have. I just ran independence compilar and loaded via code breaker. Is that still a viable way to still play outbreak region free? I mean I can still load elfs

FUNGUS123
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2018 11:55 pm

Re: [Console Route] What do I need to buy?

Postby FUNGUS123 » Mon Aug 27, 2018 9:47 pm

Alright ! How exciting I am waiting for my JPN outbreaks to arrive in the mail with my USB IDE drive reader. I just found the translation patch for both file 1 and 2 and it says it also skips DNAS. Meaning once my games arrive and I rip them with winhip, make a a back up of the ISO, patch the copies, copy to HDd with winhip, load up hD loader from memory card exploit and just open the game and I will be good to go? It sounds like I am 90 percent there. The only thing now is how do I connect the private servers?

User avatar
alexevil
Jr. Member
Posts: 99
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 3:38 pm
Location: Omicron Persei 8

Re: [Console Route] What do I need to buy?

Postby alexevil » Tue Aug 28, 2018 4:13 pm

Alright ! How exciting I am waiting for my JPN outbreaks to arrive in the mail with my USB IDE drive reader. I just found the translation patch for both file 1 and 2 and it says it also skips DNAS. Meaning once my games arrive and I rip them with winhip, make a a back up of the ISO, patch the copies, copy to HDd with winhip, load up hD loader from memory card exploit and just open the game and I will be good to go? It sounds like I am 90 percent there. The only thing now is how do I connect the private servers?
The DNAS patch is not absolutely necessary since at the beginning of this year an implementation of the server was released and someone must have it active, a few months ago I tried with my original copies and it worked but now I do not know if the server will be active, with trying you do not lose anything, the only drawback is the language.

interpol007
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2015 2:32 am

Re: [Console Route] What do I need to buy?

Postby interpol007 » Thu Aug 30, 2018 1:05 am

Alright ! How exciting I am waiting for my JPN outbreaks to arrive in the mail with my USB IDE drive reader. I just found the translation patch for both file 1 and 2 and it says it also skips DNAS. Meaning once my games arrive and I rip them with winhip, make a a back up of the ISO, patch the copies, copy to HDd with winhip, load up hD loader from memory card exploit and just open the game and I will be good to go? It sounds like I am 90 percent there. The only thing now is how do I connect the private servers?
Im sure many others have pointed out, but using a Fat PS3 is an easy solution. Modding and installing outbreak was a breeze.

User avatar
leotreves
Sr. Member
Posts: 716
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 6:38 am
Location: United States of Eurasia
Contact:

Re: [Console Route] What do I need to buy?

Postby leotreves » Thu Aug 30, 2018 7:59 pm

Alright ! How exciting I am waiting for my JPN outbreaks to arrive in the mail with my USB IDE drive reader. I just found the translation patch for both file 1 and 2 and it says it also skips DNAS. Meaning once my games arrive and I rip them with winhip, make a a back up of the ISO, patch the copies, copy to HDd with winhip, load up hD loader from memory card exploit and just open the game and I will be good to go? It sounds like I am 90 percent there. The only thing now is how do I connect the private servers?
Im sure many others have pointed out, but using a Fat PS3 is an easy solution. Modding and installing outbreak was a breeze.
Easy solution? For starters, most people don't even know exactly which of the models are actually backwards compatible. They will end up getting any fat ps3. Others believe they can follow the emulation route. That doesn't work online at all.
HN: Shepard

PCSX2 using OPL/HDD
PC: i5 6600 24GB GTX1080
PS2: SCPH 30000 120GB
PS3: CECHE01 160GB

Get a memcard with everything unlocked+network setup
Play on your emulator using PS2-like HDD

Image


Return to “Introduction”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Steeler [Crawler] and 5 guests

cron