Plans to go open source

short notes for those not reading all the forums
User avatar
Isles487
Sr. Member
Posts: 1124
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 6:10 pm

Re: Plans to go open source

Postby Isles487 » Sun Jan 26, 2020 9:59 pm



It was the server's private IP address, but even when I changed it to my public IP address, nslookup on my laptop connected to the 4G network keeps failing.

Edit: Did you mean the game's DNS address setting? Also do I have to change all my IP addresses in the obcomsrv, dnsmaqs config, and both outbreak server configs to my public IP address?
So if you're going to be hosting clients from outside your server, you're going to change the IP to be your public IP in the following locations:

Code: Select all

/etc/dnsmasq.d/obcomsrv config.properties
Any client relying on your DNS server to resolve the names will need to change the DNS IP setting in the Outbreak game to point to your public IP. DNS 2 can be left at 0.0.0.0. Keep in mind that as I pointed out previously, clients don't necessarily need to rely on your DNS and can use other options to provide it (such as their own router's DNS server if applicable).

You'll also need to open the ports as previously mentioned.

In your use case if you're trying to test connecting to your server from outside your home network you are acting as one of the "clients."
I changed those files, but I'm still not having any luck. It just won't connect to the login page. Is it acceptable to add the server IP to the DMZ of the router to quickly test it without needing to set port forwarding? Is there a way to test from a client network if the public IP address is resolving to ww01.kddi-mmbb.jp?
I'd start by using https://www.yougetsignal.com/tools/open-ports/ while your server is running to see if those ports are indeed open on your router.
Image

refan988
Full Member
Posts: 139
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 6:45 pm

Re: Plans to go open source

Postby refan988 » Mon Jan 27, 2020 3:33 am



So if you're going to be hosting clients from outside your server, you're going to change the IP to be your public IP in the following locations:

Code: Select all

/etc/dnsmasq.d/obcomsrv config.properties
Any client relying on your DNS server to resolve the names will need to change the DNS IP setting in the Outbreak game to point to your public IP. DNS 2 can be left at 0.0.0.0. Keep in mind that as I pointed out previously, clients don't necessarily need to rely on your DNS and can use other options to provide it (such as their own router's DNS server if applicable).

You'll also need to open the ports as previously mentioned.

In your use case if you're trying to test connecting to your server from outside your home network you are acting as one of the "clients."
I changed those files, but I'm still not having any luck. It just won't connect to the login page. Is it acceptable to add the server IP to the DMZ of the router to quickly test it without needing to set port forwarding? Is there a way to test from a client network if the public IP address is resolving to ww01.kddi-mmbb.jp?
I'd start by using https://www.yougetsignal.com/tools/open-ports/ while your server is running to see if those ports are indeed open on your router.
Nu luck unfortunately, even when I set my server's IP address to the dmz and opened all the ports I couldn't connect from a different public IP address. The odd thing was that if I did set my PS2's DNS address to my public IP address, it did work for connecting to the server within my private network, but not outside of it

ragnar1990
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2013 1:50 pm

Re: Plans to go open source

Postby ragnar1990 » Mon Jan 27, 2020 4:30 am

I'm stuck in setting up the DNAS, which gives me the following messages...
https://ibb.co/KWCzYxD

Pretty sure that the former steps are totally correct.

refan988
Full Member
Posts: 139
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 6:45 pm

Re: Plans to go open source

Postby refan988 » Mon Jan 27, 2020 4:44 am

I'm stuck in setting up the DNAS, which gives me the following messages...
https://ibb.co/KWCzYxD

Pretty sure that the former steps are totally correct.
It probably means that the dns setup isn't correct.

ragnar1990
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2013 1:50 pm

Re: Plans to go open source

Postby ragnar1990 » Mon Jan 27, 2020 6:09 am

I'm stuck in setting up the DNAS, which gives me the following messages...
https://ibb.co/KWCzYxD

Pretty sure that the former steps are totally correct.
It probably means that the dns setup isn't correct.
https://ibb.co/SvYcRC8
https://ibb.co/K0LjbC7
No luck at all.

refan988
Full Member
Posts: 139
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 6:45 pm

Re: Plans to go open source

Postby refan988 » Mon Jan 27, 2020 7:53 am

I'm stuck in setting up the DNAS, which gives me the following messages...
https://ibb.co/KWCzYxD

Pretty sure that the former steps are totally correct.
It probably means that the dns setup isn't correct.
https://ibb.co/SvYcRC8
https://ibb.co/K0LjbC7
No luck at all.
You can use my Virtualbox exported program if you want. It runs well. https://drive.google.com/file/d/1lrKHM3 ... sp=sharing

ragnar1990
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2013 1:50 pm

Re: Plans to go open source

Postby ragnar1990 » Mon Jan 27, 2020 2:45 pm



It probably means that the dns setup isn't correct.
https://ibb.co/SvYcRC8
https://ibb.co/K0LjbC7
No luck at all.
You can use my Virtualbox exported program if you want. It runs well. https://drive.google.com/file/d/1lrKHM3 ... sp=sharing
Thank you so much though the image is damaged.

ragnar1990
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2013 1:50 pm

Re: Plans to go open source

Postby ragnar1990 » Tue Jan 28, 2020 12:18 am

You can use my Virtualbox exported program if you want. It runs well. https://drive.google.com/file/d/1lrKHM3 ... sp=sharing
Thanks, finally worked from extracting the vmdk file by using 7-Zip. >_>

refan988
Full Member
Posts: 139
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 6:45 pm

Re: Plans to go open source

Postby refan988 » Fri Jan 31, 2020 6:39 pm

My issue is I can't figure out how to get dnsmasqn to work on the internet. Anytime I try nslookup www01.kddi-mmbb.jp [my public Ip address] from outside my network all I get is "DNS request timed out."

Edit: Apparently incoming port 53 is blocked by my ISP.

User avatar
Isles487
Sr. Member
Posts: 1124
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 6:10 pm

Re: Plans to go open source

Postby Isles487 » Fri Jan 31, 2020 11:28 pm

My issue is I can't figure out how to get dnsmasqn to work on the internet. Anytime I try nslookup www01.kddi-mmbb.jp [my public Ip address] from outside my network all I get is "DNS request timed out."

Edit: Apparently incoming port 53 is blocked by my ISP.
Pretty common - which is part of the reason why I asked you to use that website to check open ports. Sometimes port 25 outbound (SMTP) is blocked as well as some other common ports.

The solution is to have clients use their own DNS server and then connect to you for the rest, or, if they are using emulator, they can set their own DNS settings in the dev9 plugin and skip the need for a DNS server entirely.
Image

ragnar1990
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2013 1:50 pm

Re: Plans to go open source

Postby ragnar1990 » Sat Feb 01, 2020 1:06 am

My issue is I can't figure out how to get dnsmasqn to work on the internet. Anytime I try nslookup www01.kddi-mmbb.jp [my public Ip address] from outside my network all I get is "DNS request timed out."

Edit: Apparently incoming port 53 is blocked by my ISP.
I think you may give OpenVPN a look and open port 1194. Create another firewall rule for port 53, 443, 8200, 8300, 8590, 8690 separately to only allow connection from subnet 10.8.0.0/24. Launch PCSX2 and make sure that the DNS settings in your memcard has been set to auto, then set the CLR_DEV9 plugin settings like this.https://ibb.co/VSpzJ5W

refan988
Full Member
Posts: 139
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 6:45 pm

Re: Plans to go open source

Postby refan988 » Sat Feb 01, 2020 2:21 am

My issue is I can't figure out how to get dnsmasqn to work on the internet. Anytime I try nslookup www01.kddi-mmbb.jp [my public Ip address] from outside my network all I get is "DNS request timed out."

Edit: Apparently incoming port 53 is blocked by my ISP.
Pretty common - which is part of the reason why I asked you to use that website to check open ports. Sometimes port 25 outbound (SMTP) is blocked as well as some other common ports.

The solution is to have clients use their own DNS server and then connect to you for the rest, or, if they are using emulator, they can set their own DNS settings in the dev9 plugin and skip the need for a DNS server entirely.
The emulator config did the trick! Tested it by tethering to my phone and it worked (oddly enough it only worked when I tethered to my phone over wifi instead of usb).

Ji29
Newbie
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 4:03 pm

Re: Plans to go open source

Postby Ji29 » Wed Feb 05, 2020 6:26 am

So after ample time configuring it, I finally have it speaking to the server using Windows Server 2012 setup however, It seems to get stuck at 40% for the DNAS authorisation in progress screen & cannot advance. I'm currently installing wireshark to monitor the traffic but having no luck.

Any advice?

User avatar
leotreves
Sr. Member
Posts: 883
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 6:38 am
Location: United States of Eurasia
Contact:

Re: Plans to go open source

Postby leotreves » Fri Feb 21, 2020 1:20 am

So turns out that even with my 53 port open I cannot connect to my server without using the CLR9 file with that 192.0.2.1 setup. Is there any way around this that doesn't involve Hamachi or VPNs?

Btw here is me and a friend playing on my server

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-z3A_S0CvUg
HN: Shepard

Useful stuff:

Get faster load speeds with the emulated HDD
Get a memcard with everything unlocked+network setup

PCSX2 using OPL/HDD
PC: Ryzen 2700X/16GB/GTX 1080
PS2: SCPH 30000 120GB
PS3: CECHE01 2TB HDD

Image

norisawa
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2019 8:20 pm

Re: Plans to go open source

Postby norisawa » Fri Apr 03, 2020 12:07 pm

So turns out that even with my 53 port open I cannot connect to my server without using the CLR9 file with that 192.0.2.1 setup. Is there any way around this that doesn't involve Hamachi or VPNs?

Btw here is me and a friend playing on my server

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-z3A_S0CvUg
Hi, how did you create the private server? I tried to follow the instructions in the pdf but stopped at the login screen


Return to “News”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

cron